Listen Live:

SaukValleyNow Local News

(AMBOY, IL), June 14, 2017 – The Lee County Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced that FSA county committee candidate nominations begin June 15, 2015 for Local Administrative Area (LAA) #1 The nomination period continues through Tuesday, August 1, 2017 with elections taking place this fall.


"We encourage all eligible farmers to participate in this year's county committee elections by nominating candidates by the August 1st deadline," said Jerry Quinton, County Executive Director. "County committees are a vital link within the farm community and the Farm Service Agency and provide an opportunity to farmers for their opinions and ideas to be heard."


Farmers and farm landowners may nominate themselves or others as well as organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign the nomination form, FSA-669A. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available online at Nomination forms for the 2017 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Tuesday, Aug. 1, 2017. Elections will take place this fall.


Producer and landowners that are eligible to vote in LAA #1 and who participate or cooperate in FSA programs and are of legal voting age may be nominated to participate in the upcoming County FSA Committee Elections this fall.  Also, organizations representing socially disadvantaged minorities or under-represented groups may also nominate candidates.  Townships in LAA #1 are Dixon, East Grove, Harmon, Hamilton, Marion, South Dixon, and Palmyra-Nelson Townships.


Aaron Wolf of Dixon Township is currently representing LAA #1 and will be running for his 2nd term on the County Committee. FSA limits the amount of time on the committee to 3 consecutive 3-year terms.


This is an important time for LAA communities, because county committee members make decisions that have significant effects on you and the area’s agricultural sector as a whole.  Stop in the office in Amboy, for details on the types of decisions county committee members make or visit the County Committee Elections website to learn more about the County Committee Election process.


Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters by Nov. 6, 2017.  Dec. 4, 2017 is the last day to return voted ballots to the county office.  Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan.1, 2018.  A listing of eligible voters is available for public viewing on our front counter.